you know you’re an adult when

We moved in a nicer, new apartment in January. Though I was still working a job that didn’t pay very well, we knew that we wanted to upgrade most of our furniture. At the time I was in a job that provided no extra funding for our champagne dreams. So, we have been patient. A few months after we moved in we were able to replace the living room furniture, which was the priority. We now have lovely, matching adult furniture! It looks great and we can seat more guests when we have folks over. Our couch also has a pull out bed to sleep any over-night guests we may have. *hint hint* Come visit! 

Last week we purchased a king-size bed, a lovely upgrade from my beloved queen-size pillowtop bed of my dreams. We needed more space due to our pets sleeping with us and it’s getting frustrating fighting for a place to put our legs during sleep time. We have been talking about the new bed for a while and then we happened to be at a store that sells bed and saw one we liked. Without delay, the bed was paid for that day! Craziness! It’s so hard to wrap my head around us not struggling financially for these types of purchases.

In January we are going to Florida and will be staying in a fancy suite with a full kitchen! I cannot tell you how excited I was to find a place to stay that will be comfortable, overlooks the bay and isn’t a trucker motel. We’ve stayed in many 3 star hotels but this will be our first fancy stay. It’s going to be glorious, with all the comforts of home! 

Throughout my 20s I thought I’d never get out of financial struggles. I worked really hard to finish my degree and to find a decent job so that those struggles wouldn’t follow me into my more adult years. Mission Accomplished kids!! For the first time in my life, I am in a stable financial situation that I don’t have to worry about. My hubby is a lot less stressed now that I am making a decent salary and that makes us happier over all. Who knew finances played such a big part of being happy? 

When did you know that you had made it to adulthood? 

Leave a Reply

